Meet the Bloggies: 2011 Best Science Blog Nominees

The 2011 Weblog Awards are in full swing, and I’ve been nominated in the top 5 for Science Blog of the Year. I’m up against huge competition; to see how to vote, and why I think I deserve to win, see this post!

For now, why not check out these character cards to introduce you to the finalists? Clicking on the image will take you to the website; my own comments are below each one!

BoingBoing has some good science content, but they aren’t really a science blog (their science section, obviously, but not as a whole). I have a lot of respect for them, and they’ve won the Bloggies several times before – I’m not sure if they’re really right for this category, though!

Err, it’s me. I’ll be explaining why I think I should win soon!

Get on over and support this project! It’s probably most directly relevant to, well, women in planetary science, but it’s worth a look. The people behind it are doing an amazing job and it’s nice to see a really worthwhile blog get into the top 5!

I’ll make no secret of it: I don’t like WUWT, and I strongly disagree with what Anthony’s doing with the site. However, I don’t want this race to be about climate science vs. climate skeptics. I am more disappointed in Anthony’s generally negative approach to science; he undermines, suggests, challenges and distorts, without making strong contributions to science or society. I see science as a positive force, and WUWT embodies the opposite of that ideal.

I chose the Hydra for several reasons. One, it’s very cool, and so is Wired. Two, they have seven bloggers. Three, it’s immensely powerful, compared to me at least! Wired isn’t a single blog as much as a stable of blogs, so while it is probably the most professional and content-rich site nominated, it’s a bit unfair for me to have to compete against 7 established bloggers at once!

There you have it; my crash course in the 2011 Best Science Weblog finals. Stay tuned as I put my case for why I think I should take out the title and slay these giants!

Categories: Science, Thoughts | Tags: , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Meet the Bloggies: 2011 Best Science Blog Nominees

  1. Pingback: Meet the Bloggies: 2011 Science Blog Nominees (via David Robertson) « My Test News Site

  2. brunOliveira

    Good luck. is it possible for me to vote for you? And I’ll vote for your weaknesses, since I just come to your blog to see your photos and your photos of squirrels :-)

  3. Pingback: Help me win the 2011 Bloggie Award! | David Robertson

  4. Mary Beth Haguewood

    I would like to vote for you….just tell me how, where, and when.

    Mary Beth

  5. mattycoze

    You win the internets. (I voted, and I encourage people to vote also!)

  6. Pingback: Have you voted yet? | notes from africa

  7. Anthony Watts

    Well I’ve been called a lot of things, but never “Big Tony”.

    I find it humorous that you’d quote angry paid political blogger Joe Romm, but it appears you didn’t look very deep beyond what “others” say, so I can understand your turnign in to a hit piece.

    It’s always disappointing when people take the skepticism of climate science and its ills, and turn that into an overall anti science meme. It shows lack of research on your part.

    But, good luck to you anyway.

    • Thanks for stopping by.

      I don’t believe that your approach and impact is limited to damaging climate science as a discipline. You have promoted a position which rejects any assumption of honesty or mutual trust, undermines the legitimacy of the peer review process across the board (not just in specific cases) and provided an online environment in which anti-scientific viewpoints find validation for their suspicions and conspiracy theories, both in climate science and beyond it.

      I don’t think I need to wish you luck for the award, because you’re very likely to win by a landslide!

  8. Alright: I was up for an award which I seem to have lost. I shall vote for your blog if the voting is still open. I got to you from Freshly Pressed. Great site. Loved it. Subscribing. And off to vote too!

    Bests!

  9. haha nice. I agree on the WUWT. I stumbled it for the first time today and was initially appalled and then impressed with his ability to argue. A hard nut to crack in a world that probably can’t afford to be debating whether CC is happening or not.

  10. Pingback: Current Events In Science | Living History

  11. Hi there, I discovered your blog by the use of Google even as looking for a similar subject, your website got here up, it seems to be great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply changed into alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.

    I’m gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful should you proceed this in future. Many folks will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 659 other followers

