Decisions, Decisions

Today I voted in JJJ‘s hottest 100 of all time, and deciding on 10 of my top favourite songs of all time was bloody hard! I wanted to vote for songs which filled a few criteria; (1) are awesome, (2) have or will stand the test of time, (3) have some meaning for me and (4) probably have some chance of making it. So there were some difficult exclusions, and I didn’t go for a lot of the more obscure bands which I enjoy. Here’s my list, with a quick explanation for each song:

Dire Straits – Sultans Of Swing
My parents played this while I was growing up and it’s a song which I appreciate as fantastic music, but also relate to a lot of good memories.
Incubus – Wish You Were Here
An uplifting song by one of my favourite bands, which takes me back to the days of road tripping to the surf with Tom in South Australia in high school.
Stevie Ray Vaughan – Little Wing
Probably my favourite guitar arrangement. Ever.
Jimi Hendrix – All Along The Watchtower
Listened to loud, the start of this song creates an atmosphere which sends shivers down my spine.
Muse – Knights Of Cydonia
Four minutes in is the best rock-out air guitar moment since Bohemian Rhapsody.
Pink Floyd – Time
Dark room, headphones, the introduction to this song… classic album, band, and song. They don’t make ’em like they used to.
Rage Against the Machine – Bulls On Parade
Talk about full-frontal assault. No lead-in, just smash and grab the senses of the listener.
System of a Down – Toxicity
One of the first ‘alternative’ songs I downloaded, aged 12 (back in the Napster days) which opened my eyes to a world beyond radio.
Pixies – Where Is My Mind?
Fight Club, No Friends and a haunting tune.
Tool – Sober
One of my favourites when I saw Tool live, one of my favourites of theirs ever. And the Spencer Skipper section in a No Friends vid.

What would be your top 10?

I also cruised down to the beach to enjoy a post-storm glass-off today. There were some fun waves about, though the banks were a bit fickle and not handling the junky swell particularly well.

Disappearing into the distance.

Disappearing into the distance.


It's a rock covered in bubbles... nothing suss!

It's a rock covered in bubbles... nothing suss!


Not big, not makeable, but rushing it is a hell of a lot of fun.

Not big, not makeable, but rushing it is a hell of a lot of fun.

Categories: Thoughts | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

