When hobbies turn serious

Yesterday, I photographed a wedding for the first time. I was a bit apprehensive at first, because I haven’t done much portrait/people work, but I decided to give it a go – after assuring my friend that I wasn’t a professional, so not to expect too much! I really wanted to make sure I got some memorable shots of the day, so I borrowed some extra gear (thanks Will!) and was equipped with 2 camera bodies with fast prime lenses, which made getting the job done much easier.

The newlyweds.

I’m happy with the results – I could maybe have been a bit bossier with the shots after the ceremony, because there was some great scenery which wasn’t really exploited, but there’s definitely some keepers in the three hundred or so shots I fired off.  Congratulations Mikalah and Phil!

Categories: Fun Things On Land, photos | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “When hobbies turn serious

  1. wow how cute

  2. Jordan

    Hey mate nice pic. what lens’s did you use? i’m thinking about getting into it down here with a mate.. maybe using the macro (ring, flower shots), 50mm, fisheye/wide angle and zoom lens.

    • Jords, I shot with the 50mm 1.8 and the 100mm 2.8 macro during the ceremony. Didn’t shoot much wide at all, used the 17-85 with flash a little bit during the later stages but stuck with the 50 mostly. It was overcast and shady so needed to shoot wide open a lot, which meant the shallow DoF was a bit of a challenge.

      I think a lot is a confidence thing, just being willing to ‘see’ a shot and then tell the couple exactly how you want them… I was a bit hesitant to do that because it was my first time shooting. I reckon three good primes, a 30, 50/60 and 100 would do for most situations… the 50 was just a bit hard to manage in a couple of settings and not having a faster wide lens hurt a bit.

  3. Sally

    What a cute picture! I’m sure you did a great job Dave and at least they wouldn’t have all been staged to the max because that ever looks good anyway…

  4. Really good work David, I’m sure the rest turned out well :)

  5. Thanks guys!

Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

