It’s a double play

Tomorrow I’ll be off to the Punk Revival Tour, with four punk singers, lots of acoustic guitars, a couple of backup musicians, a folksy approach and what seems to be a very DIY ethic. I’d not heard of a couple of the artists before, so I bought Frank Turner’s latest album Poetry of the Deed to remedy the situation somewhat. I had no idea what to expect (which is good) and it’s jumped immediately to high-rotation. It’s excellent. The honesty and emotion that went into writing the songs is unmissable, with tracks ranging from the upbeat ‘Try This At Home’ (video below) to Mr. Richards, which tells the haunting story of a man’s late-life crisis of meaning.

I’ll be taking a pencil and paper with me on my upcoming road trip. Could I come with anything interesting? There’s only one way to find out…

Categories: music | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

