Happy birthday to you…

I sat down this morning – exactly 12 months after posting my first blog here – and mapped out the year in front of me. Starting in May, I’ll be travelling the full length of the East Coast of Australia, from Cape York in the north to Green Cape in the south, throwing in a jaunt to South Australia along the way. In my stopovers at home, there’ll be Jam Night VII in June, another Green Steps training course at Griffith in August (highly recommended for 2nd and 3rd year students studying at Griffith!), and no doubt gigabytes of photos and video to sort through. The road beckons!

In September, I’ll be off to the UK to take the Master of Science in Science Communication at Imperial College, London. I’ll precede the study with three weeks of exploring and shenanigans in Ireland and Scotland, before settling down to become a student on a shoestring (the financial planning side of this year is somewhat intimidating – paying full fees isn’t fun).

I’ll be wading into the world of science communication at a time when parts of science are under heavy attack, which has implications for the credibility of the discipline in general. I’ll face challenges in engaging with people, seeking to influence education and policy to value an evidence-based, scientific approach to problems and issues at every level. In a world where we have unlimited choice of all types of media imaginable, how can I convince people it is important to learn and care about the world around them? How does science communication move beyond preaching to the choir? How can solutions to major issues be negotiated, with vested interests circling like sharks in an aquarium?

Random Archive Photo #7: Bull Shark at Sea World, Young Water Professionals weekend, 2008.

Of course, I can’t answer those questions now, and I may never hold the answers. All I know is that, when my blog turns 2 in 12 months time, there will be loads more posts, photos, videos, random links and thoughts which have spilled from my mind to the keyboard. Stay tuned!

Categories: Fun Things On Land, Problems, Things people do, Thoughts | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Happy birthday to you…

  1. M@

    I never knew the matter of sharks being kept in acquariums was actually a major issue subject for debate. I guess it goes with any animal being held captive; whales, dolphins, elephants etc… but why sharks in particular?

    • It’s a tricky issue, much like poor grammar. Fortunately, I can quietly edit the post so that it makes more sense and people will wonder what you’re talking about!

  2. Nathan

    Surely you mean that the major issue is negotiating aquarium size with sharks, given their vested interests?

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

