Red Rocking

After my disaster morning at Scott’s Head, I cruised back up the coast to a little spot called Red Rock. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I found a gorgeous little fishing village tucked in at the southern end of Yuraygir National Park. Roads only one lane wide, with cars parked on lawns with their doors unlocked and windows down, locals willing to wave to anyone crossing their path and a nice, cheap caravan park near the Red Rock Bluff and beach.

The swell was up when I arrived, but after a short arvo bash I decided to wait for the morning, which promised clean waves. After dark, I strolled up to the bluff, where I took a couple of star trail shots – I feel like I’m getting the hang of them at last! The surf dropped off overnight, so there were only 2ft leftovers when I checked it, shivering, at dawn. The high tide made more of a meal of it, but as the tide ran out, a fun left developed off the headland, with peeling waves and only one other surfer out. I ended up surfing for 5 hours, honing my (shoddy) dropknee skills, before I reluctantly hit the road again and headed north.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: photos, Road Trip | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Red Rocking

  1. Loving the star trail shots.

  2. Adele

    Hey David, I just stumbled across your blog from Nico’s page… isn’t Red Rock beautiful!? I grew up there, and in another little town about 10mins south, Sandy Beach. Both gorgeous spots… glad other people have found it and appreciated it! Next time you head down that way make sure you do the boadwalk on the north side of the estuary, some great fauna including echidnas and wading birds.

    • Yes, I think it’s one of the hidden gems of the Coffs Coast. I had no idea there was a boardwalk there, I’d have loved that – when I get back hopefully I can get down there!

  3. Pingback: Double Header: Musical Top 5 of 2010 « David Robertson

  4. Pingback: Leaving behind the ghosts « David Robertson

  5. Pingback: Things I’m proud of this year « David Robertson

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

