Blood, Sweat and Tube Strikes: Fresher’s Week ’10

A trickle of blood ran down my forehead. My reflection winced at me from the mirror. Moving in to my Imperial College accommodation wasn’t going too well. At least I learned a lesson: when searching for power points under a book shelf in a new place, don’t stand up suddenly.

I didn’t have long to dwell on my newly-acquired injury. I made a half-hearted attempt at unpacking, paid a visit to the shops for some essentials and hit the Clayponds Village welcome BBQ. After that, the week was a blur!

Perhaps it was the bookcase incident scrambling my brains, but I’m not sure how my memories all fit together. Still, there’s plenty of snapshots to take away. Barn dancing for three hours with a folk band; a punishing volleyball training session (for my unfit body, at least!); watching the sun set at the Royal Albert Hall; ‘singing’ Walk This Way by Run DMC and Aerosmith at karaoke; visiting a piano bar in High Street Kensington; dancing the night away to Daft Punk at the Village Hall; a week of classes that were everything from funny to frustrating; the Postgrad Mingle, fire alarms, bomb scares, tube strikes, night buses – the list goes on.

That’s what fresher’s week is all about, right? Given that I couldn’t possibly hope to remember it all, it’s a good thing I brought my camera along some of the time. Here’s a whirlwind 2 minutes of my first impressions of London, Imperial and the mad days that were Welcome Week ’10.

*This has taken a while to go live because I’m waiting to see if I’m going to be an official Imperial Student Blogger. Haven’t heard back so I thought I’d just put it out there… enjoy!

Categories: Fun Things On Land, Videos | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Blood, Sweat and Tube Strikes: Fresher’s Week ’10

  1. Chris

    Loved it! So many new people.

  2. jacob

    dude the photo at 23!!!!! can i have a look in better rez somewhere?

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

