Sunday Science: Some of My Favourites

In these exciting times, I want to look back and share a little about how I got here. When I was nominated for the Bloggie, I thought, ‘Gee, but I don’t really discuss science that much!’ However, flicking over my categories, I’ve tagged science on average once every four posts (92 times in total), and I think they make up some of my better writing. So, in no particular order, I present a selection of my musings on science and its place in the world.

The most recent posts that I rate are The Scientist’s Dilemma and Whole Lotto Love. Further back, my love for the ocean has led to several pop-sci style blogs, such as the importance of waves and the evil blue invaders who attack surfers.

I can think of at least 5 science stories based on this image!

I’ve also mused on the climate change issue, such as whether the topic is boring and how the media representation of the issue impacts scientists. More broadly, I’ve discussed the problem of citation bias and authority in journals: while I am very optimistic about science, I am also aware of its pitfalls and potential problems.

My personal experiences with science have highlighted a few things for me. One of my biggest pet hates is the appeal to common sense on a scientific issue. Also, at a very personal level, I’ve related a digestible explanation of my Honours research, though looking back at it it’s probably not very well written – perhaps it’s due for an update!

So, there’s a bunch of pointers to some of my science-related writings. However, if you don’t want to live in the past, never fear: this week promises to be an action-packed blog extravaganza*!

*May contain mild hyperbole.

Categories: Random Links, Science | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

