A photographic interlude with pleasant aromas

I need some fresh air after yesterday’s post. Here’s a nice summer stormcloud (yes, the foreground is rubbish, I had about 2 minutes to get a picture before it started raining) and gentle morning light in the graveyard.

Yay for the streetscape! Think about that lovely fresh-rain scent...

Again, not the best composition, but it's a nice scene. And it smelled quite pleasant.

Categories: photos | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “A photographic interlude with pleasant aromas

  1. Will

    Nice flowers in the second shot. How’s the 7D treating you?

    My tamron 17-50 2.8 is super awesome – I’m loving it. I’m also completely in love with the 9-stop ND filter (Hoya 400ND). I took some new shots on ANZAC day….http://www.flickr.com/photos/willinaus/5652645376/in/photostream

    • I saw those on facebook the other day. Look great, especially the rock one. Have you tried using the 9-stop in any urban locations? I reckon that could have some amazing effects, eliminating people or turning them into a flowing river.

      I must say I kind of miss having a zoom (I don’t count the 10-22 as a zoom). While I use the 30mm loads, and the 1.4 is epic to have access to, sometimes I wish I could just zoom out and get wider…

      • Will

        Thanks. No urban shots yet – i have thought about trying it out, like you say, to make people disappear so only the environment is visible…

        Yeh, having a zoom is good, but I would love a normalish fast prime (between 28 and 35mm on 1.6x) that doesn’t cost a fortune.

        The Tamron 17-50 2.8 is only around $350 from some places (dwidigitalcameras.com.au) and is so much better than the kit lens…

  2. Nice shot of the stormcloud. I love the scent of fresh rain. :)

  3. David, being tired is no excuse for plying us with rubbish! ^_^
    Crop the top shot so that only the tips of the roofs are showing with no greenery showing at all, work on the clouds to make them more dramatic, even adding some grain for effect. As for the second one, well what can I say! Just do an overhead of that lovely tombstone with the cross on it and the pink petals, that should look more interesting, even try adding some depth to the pinkness when post-processing. Okay?! ^_^ Try again!

  4. Chris

    I loved the graveyard shot. I actually think the overhanging tree frames the whole scene beautifully. The sun in the foreground still enables the viewer to focus on and appreciate the rich colour of the petals on the grave.

  5. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Thanks!

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

