In which a stray sandwich threatens to derail the streak

A pocket of almost subtropical rainforest in a firmly temperate region of Australia's South Coast.

Without going into detail, a misadventure with a bad turkey sandwich almost led to me missing today’s post. And we can’t have that, can we?

Instead, I’ll leave you with a jaw-dropping video podcast from Tahiti’s local bodyboarders. What a stunning place, with some of the most beautiful and dangerous waves in the world.

That's not to say I think Tahiti is better than Australia. It's not. Congo in winter.

Categories: photos, Surf, Videos | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “In which a stray sandwich threatens to derail the streak

  1. You realise that with a title like that no-one cares about these vids/images, and just wants to know about this curious turkey sandwich mishap. ;)

    Details! Was it fatal..?

    • Oh, you want detail? OK. At approximately 12:30pm, I ingested a turkey and bacon sandwich and latte from the Science Museum cafe. The coffee tasted a bit funny but I thought, oh well. By about 3pm I was feeling queasy. At 4pm everyone else was leaving. I said bye to them, then went and chundered in the loo. Feeling better, I tidied up my things, answered a few emails, and switched off the various electrical appliances in the gallery. Around 5pm I left work, starting to feel sick again. I then had to wait 15 minutes for a bus, during which time I got very cold, because my body had apparently given up on thermoregulation. Upon finally arriving home, I was promptly sick again. I then retreated to bed at around 6:20pm, and had a temperature and several more bouts of bodily functions. By about midnight it was mostly over, and I was left very tired, with popped blood vessels around my eyes and sore abs. I then slept soundly until 9, woke up, answered some emails, and went back to bed for most of the day.

      There you go, full story.

  2. Jonny K

    Unfortunately, Mr. Hedgehog, our good friend died. He is now posthumously blogging. Because nothing can stop him.

  3. Chris

    Is there a moral to this story?

Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

