Making Time Lapse

I’ve been meaning to do one of these for quite a while. Enjoy.

It’s a very simple timelapse done with my GoPro, showing the hour leading to dusk over the Thames. I also spliced some footage of a flock of swallows (or starlings, or something) at Battersea Bridge on a similar evening. I like the way the super-still river is chopped up by the boat wakes, and if you look closely you can see the tide dropping!

While far from artistic, I wanted to capture a different side of London to the usual picture of bustling streets and tube stations. Getting a bit off the main roads, even if it’s by the river or in a park, can lead you to these moments. I think about 10 people walked past this spot in the hour I was there – hardly the middle of nowhere, but unusually quiet for a city of 7 million.

Imperial Wharf Rail Bridge

I went for a quick walk after. The GoPro's not the easiest to shoot with, especially after dark, but this one of the rail bridge at Imperial Wharf turned out kind of cool.

The walk was good, I’ve found a few spots that might work better for similar videos if the conditions align. I’m also going to do some DIY stuff-hacking to trick out the GoPro a bit, but you’ll have to wait and see if it works…

Categories: Fun Things On Land, photos, Videos | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Making Time Lapse

  1. LOVE IT!

  2. Very good!

  3. So cool! Love the way the darkness is kinda like the closing curtains at a show..

    *misses London*

  4. Anonymous

    Dude, i love this! time lapses make anywhere look beautiful!! I’m a fan! If you ever fancy letting someone play with your go-pro, i’ll certainly be at the front of the queue!! xx

  5. lottoresultsblog786

    Wow! The only sad feeling about this is I can make em. I wish I could.

  6. Thanks everyone! I learned a few things from this one, so hopefully I will be able to get a few more interesting ones together soon and tell a bit more of a story with them. Andy, sure, if you have any ideas of stuff you might want to try out with it, let me know and it’s yours, or just borrow it for a week or something.

  7. Alana

    Lovely.

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

