This gives me ideas

I missed this one when it went viral in 2009, but back then I was planning my own adventures. Now, on a sunny London afternoon (yes, they exist), having just been for a walk in the park (… for those counting, this is a pre-scheduled post!) it seems like a fantastic idea.

But how far could I push myself on a project like this? A week? A month? A year? Where would I do it? China has many obstacles; the language would probably be one of the biggest. Also, though, the culture isn’t something that fascinates me. Europe? Or is it too developed to be fun? Australia? Would I survive the wilderness?

Would I walk, or ride a bike, or drive a car like I did in 2010?

At Congo, New South Wales, on a crisp winter afternoon...

Could I build surfing into the trip, and if so, how would I manage the gear? Could it be an amazing way to experience the United States?

As you can see, my head is buzzing with ideas. London has been an urban adventure, but it doesn’t sate in me the hunger awakened by my youth at the shack, then travel with my family aged 11, then 5 months with Dad aged 15, and my own adventures since.

That there is The Shack at Point Turton, and it holds some of my most precious memories.

If you navigate the map downwards (south) of those buildings, you can see a dark brown area of land – ‘the swamp’ – which we, as a handful of kids, used to explore and trek and play in. It was full of twisted trees and sheep bones and little mystery hideouts. We clambered through barbed wire fences and felt a sense of wonder at the world, but also what I can only describe as naturalness at being there, a state that can only be achieved when the journey is not about achieving ‘place x’ but simply to see what’s there.

OK, this is garbled and long, but it has planted a more determined seed than the existing one inside me which chatters away, vaguely telling me to ‘see more of the world’. It might not be tomorrow, it might not be this year, but… watch this space.

Categories: environmentalism, Fun Things On Land, photos, Road Trip, Things people do, Thoughts, Travel, Videos | Tags: , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “This gives me ideas

  1. watching it

  2. You’ve definitely got the travel bug, and there’s only one cure!

    I actually think China is one of the most interesting countries I’ve visited, although you’re right about the language barrier. Ordering in a restaurant there is usually a case of pointing at a random set of characters on the menu and hoping for the best!

    A trip I really want to do one day is China East to West, through Tibet, then down the Friendship Highway into Nepal and then Bhutan.

  3. Whoa, Emily, that does sound amazing. I think I will try to learn a bit of Chinese from my mum next time I see her, because it does seem like a useful language to know!

  4. I’ve driven with kayaks from California to Florida, a bread truck from California to New York and motorcycle from Oregon through all of Canada. If you have any questions for an American trip let me know.

  5. Chris

    Your blog has brought back wonderful memories from 2 years spent in China…and many years visiting the shack on Yorke Peninsula.. Especially liked seeing Shanxi again, though.

  6. Chris

    中国对我的印象很大!我爱中国,中国文化和历史非常有意思。你的妈妈。Copy and paste to Google translate D.

  7. Jonny

    Of interest: the day he started that video was the day the iPhone came out in Britain for the first time. Also, my 21st birthday.

    And I really must travel.

    How does trying to make it back to oz with as low a carbon footprint (i.e. no flying) as possible sound? Preferably cheaper, but you could work it.

    • I think that sounds like an excellent idea, Jonny. Seriously. Simple (in concept), cool, achieves multiple goals in one project (travel, not harming the environment, getting back to Australia).

      Shit, I think I may have to do this.

      • Having consulted a map, the middle east on foot/cycling could be slightly dangerous and problematic. Maybe I could hop over it to India… not to mention the minor final obstacle, which would be to actually get to Australia, and apparently this is extremely difficult as there are no regular passenger services other than flights that make that trip, unless one blags it onto a private boat/carrier – and that’s not exactly politically popular in Australia right now.

        • Hmmm. Having looked at it a little more, it may actually be more effective to get to Moscow, then go to Beijing via trans-Siberian rail, then continue down. Skips the war-torn desert bit…

  8. You can certainly find an adventure up in B.C. There are millions of aces of pristine forst and seashore. Second only to Alaska in North America.

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

