La Sagrada Familia

Gaudi is a nutcase. I wish there were more artists (or whatever he was) with the ludicrous vision, daring and creativity, because it makes the world a more interesting place. In Barcelona, I joined the throngs of people at the most stunning piece of architecture I’ve visited yet – La Sagrada Familia. The sheer scale of it is bonkers, but the attention to detail, unique form and overall impact has to be seen to be believed. Here’s a few snapshots.

I wouldn’t shy away from calling the unfinished outside “a huge eyesore”.

Inside is another matter entirely. I was stunned as soon as I walked in.

It is like standing in a concrete forest, with enormous trees branching off into flowers holding up an imposing ceiling. Click for the full size image.

It was hard not to hold the place in awe. It was less overtly religious than most cathedrals I’ve visited, but that meant, for me, less distractions from the inspirational architecture.

The old facade is hard to take in. It’s so complex, messy, and (my black and white treatment notwithstanding) very brown. The individual setpieces do reward closer inspection.

I can confidently say that La Sagrada Familia is going to be a benchmark for me when it comes to the amazing feats of human creativity and engineering. Just plain wow. Hopefully they get it finished one day.

Categories: photos, Travel | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “La Sagrada Familia

  1. Meredith

    Wow David, you were lucky to see all this. It was closed when I went. This guy amazed me by being so far ahead of his time.

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

