Ups and downs

Life has delivered me a series of setbacks of the past couple of weeks. None were crucial or insurmountable but they added up to a feeling that blogging wasn’t really what I wanted to be doing.

But London life has a way of making me see the interesting or brighter side of things and I have been shaping what I’ve been doing to make me excited about the future. I went to an Occupy event – it was more of a ‘let’s just see what it’s like’ thing; a civilised affair in a church with George Monbiot and Green Party leader Natalie Bennett speaking about property rights. It was exciting to be exposed to people who totally reject the way of understanding society and life and ownership that I have grown up taking for granted, even if I don’t agree with all of their ideas. It was good to hear people who value a vigorous exchange of ideas and acting on them and caring.

I also had a slightly inebriated conversation that involved Route 66, but that may just be madness.

Finding space to think is always a good thing.

Oh, and I want to write a book. That’s maybe a little ambitious.

Categories: Thoughts | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Ups and downs

  1. Chris

    Why would writing a book be ambitious? You write well.

  2. 2013: NaBoWriYe?

  3. I would read your book

  4. Jonny; I’m not sure what that means. Chris and Jackie; thanks! It’s a challenge because a novel is around 80-100K words, and that is an ambitious undertaking. I think I have a good idea, but translating that into a readable or even good book is a whole different ballgame.

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

