Will I get the Best Job in the World?

It started out as an ordinary evening. I’d been for a long rock climbing session after work at The Arch, then hopped off the bus a stop early to take in the warm night breeze with a walk along the Thames. Then my phone rang. It was an Australian number. My Mum.

She was a little bit excited. Something unexpected had happened.

Earlier this month, I’d applied to be a Park Ranger in Queensland, as part of Tourism Australia’s Best Jobs in the World competition. With more than 600,000 expressions of interest for the jobs, I put it into the back of my mind (sitting on a shelf next to my memories of Australian wilderness adventures). Here’s my alliterative attempt:

Result? Success! I made it onto the shortlist for the job. You can see the other 24 brilliant shortlisted candidates here. But that’s only the beginning; now I need to complete a tricky but exciting task to win a place in the final 3 – I need to find an ‘ultimate referee’.

It’s a perfect job for me. I lived in Queensland for 7 years and studied Environmental Science and Wildlife Management there. The state has some of the most inspirational natural locations in the world – obvious ones, like the Great Barrier Reef, but some less so, like the wonderful Chillagoe National Park. I spent a healthy wodge of 2010 exploring off Queensland’s beaten track. These places are assets for Australia and the world, so promoting and protecting them is a worthy cause.

Six months as an adventurous ambassador for the state’s most stunning areas would be a dream. For the next two weeks, I’m going to be pulling out the stops to make it a reality!

What am I waiting for?

I have a few ideas up my sleeve…

Categories: communication, Fun Things On Land | Tags: , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Will I get the Best Job in the World?

  1. Good luck!

  2. Chris

    Fantastic opportunity. All the best. I can really see you in a job like that. Good luck!

  3. Top man! Sounds a fantastic opportunity mate – all the very best with the final application process :-)

  4. Dave, that’s awesome – many congratulations for making the shortlist! Here’s hoping you get the job (and perhaps some spare flight tickets for your London mates to come out and visit you …)

  5. Patrick McGahan

    Congrats mate, that’s amazing! Super stoked for you.

  6. Ciaran

    Congratulations Dave I have no doubt in my mind that you can do this.

  7. Meredith

    Well done David. You should be very proud of yourself. All the best for the next stage. Fingers and toes crossed for you. Good luck

  8. Anonymous

    Hi David, that’s fantastic – and I loved your S bend… :) That wasn’t one of the 2 video clips
    John sent me to comment on, but it was way better than either of them, so well done. As to ultimate referees, apart from the obvious choice, your Mum, have you thought about Bindi Irwin? On the assumption that it’s not a genuine referee as such, but more about the creativity and theatre of your approach, someone like her could be good – and who knows, if asked she may well do it. Or Michael Voss? Wally Lewis?

    • Andrew Robertson

      Hi David, that’s fantastic – and I loved your S bend… :) That wasn’t one of the 2 video clips
      John sent me to comment on, but it was way better than either of them, so well done. As to ultimate referees, apart from the obvious choice, your Mum, have you thought about Bindi Irwin? On the assumption that it’s not a genuine referee as such, but more about the creativity and theatre of your approach, someone like her could be good – and who knows, if asked she may well do it. Or Michael Voss? Wally Lewis?

  9. Thanks everyone! Lots of ideas running through my head for the next stage!

  10. Judy

    Congratulations David, this job was made for you! I wish you all the best in your endeavours.

  11. Pingback: Be My Ultimate Referee | David Robertson

Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

