Studland: Inaccurate name, nice beach

A cloudy but calm summer day at Studland Beach South

Light drizzle was clearing up as we arrived at Studland Beach South for the day trip...

Yesterday was my first visit to the ocean since last September, when I went for a dip in the Atlantic at Ballybunion Beach in Ireland. The calm waters of Studland Beach, near Bournemouth on the South coast, weren’t particularly exciting, but it was a pretty good day in the end!

A small wave surges onto a boat ramp at Studland Beach

The clouds drifted off and the sun came out. This is my best attempt at a 'surf' shot, boat wake on a boat ramp...

I carefully used reverse psychology on the weather, leaving my 7D at home because “it will rain”. After some light drizzle as we arrived from the ferry, the day actually cleared up and within an hour the sun was prominent in the blue sky.

It certainly made me realise why the Gold Coast is so proud of its beaches. With the high tide, Studland was a fairly narrow, if nice enough, stretch of sand, slowly sloping out into calm, warm not cold ocean. A picnic lunch, icecream and some frisbee and swimming made the day about as beachy as possible.

The sun beams down on Studland Beach

British people have such quaint beach culture. Like umbrellas, for example.

All too soon we returned to Bournemouth, where the sunshine kept beaming down. More icecream, a wander through the town and a visit to the pier and fish and chip shop made the day about as 100% predictable beach-touristy as possible.

I'm not convinced it's stable, but it's definitely quite eye-catching.

I can see the appeal of the whole ‘day trip to the beach’. Studland was especially nice because, for the first time in a long time, I didn’t have to listen to traffic noise! And the combination of sand, salt and sun – minus, alas, surf – was a much needed one.

Studland and Bournemouth can't claim to have been graced by waves like this, but I tried not to hold it against them. Pic: Coastalwatch from one of THOSE days at Main Beach.

Categories: Fun Things On Land, Travel | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Studland: Inaccurate name, nice beach

  1. Awesome post, i havent been to the sea in about 2 years now and cant wait to get back down south to see some decent beaches

  2. My family’s holiday house is in Studland, and Middle Beach is awesome – glad you enjoyed it! You seem to have got far better weather than we normally do.

    I’m going down there at the start of September, looking forward to escaping dissertation and my flat for a bit.

    Hope your hols are going well! :)

  3. Alana

    What a lovely place to just kick back and enjoy your day! I’m surprised that more people are not in the water. These are my favorite kind of photos. I so enjoy seeing the everyday life of people in other countries. Tks. for sharing!

  4. Cheers guys. Pippa, very jealous, it’s such a nice spot – while it’s not the most spectacular area I’m sure the small cliffs at the south end would be good to explore and importantly, it’s still unspoiled by traffic and buildings!

  5. It is a pretty little beach, but I grew up at Main Beach. It is hard to beat.

Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.